WhatsApp Messenger has updated its ‘Delete for Everyone’ feature. From the 7-minutes or 420 seconds deadline, Whatsapp users can now delete sent messages within 4096 seconds or 68 minutes and 16 seconds.
However, it must be noted that the extended deadline is live for WhatsApp Android beta version 2.18.69. A stable release for Android and iOS is expected to follow soon.
Who can use this feature?
Curently only WhatsApp Android beta testers can make use of the the extended deadline for ‘Delete for Everyone’ feature.
How will it impact you?
Deleting messages for everyone allows you to delete specific messages you have sent to either a group or an individual chat.
Once the new message is over its beta testing, users will be able to delete messages for everyone even after an hour has passed. But once, the set time has passed, there is no way to delete messages for everyone.
In order for messages to be successfully deleted for everyone, both you and your recipient must be using the latest version of WhatsApp for Android, iPhone or Windows Phone.
If you or your recipient are not using the latest version of WhatsApp for Android, iPhone or Windows Phone, this feature will not be supported.
Recipients may see your message before it’s deleted or if deletion was not successful.